As if typing and sending an email is not enough mental work already, sometimes in the heat of the moment you may hit the send button mistakenly. Or before realizing you have made a grave mistake in the body of the message.

Gmail has a feature that lets users unsend an email after 10 seconds of pressing the send button. This feature is not in default setting, so it has to be enabled for individual accounts.

Step 1

After signing into your Gmail account, click on the “Setting” button on the far right side of the screen, when a drop down menu is presented, click setting again.

Step 2

When you click on the setting button, a menu appears. From this menu, click on the dialog box beside “Enable Undo Send” option. Then proceed to set the time to 30 seconds.

This time set is the time for you to decide if you want to unsend a mail that has already been sent. There are 5-second, 10-second, 20-second and the 30-second options. But 30 seconds affords you enough time to know if you want to take back a mail sent.

Step 3

After setting up this feature, after sending a mail, an option to “Undo” appears on the top of your screen for 30 seconds, click on it to return the email.

Please note that this option is only available for users on Gmail (personal and business accounts) and can only be accessed after 30 seconds of hitting the send button. So you still have to be very careful when composing important messages.